With Roundtables event Participants are able to engage together and discuss a subject over a multi people video call.
Roundtables have a Start date and End date, design customization, Live discussion enabling, links with Exhibitors or Sessions and settings for limits and visibility.
A Roundtable can have Moderators and up to 100 Participants (moderators included).
How to create a Roundtable in the Studio
In the studio, we should be able to create Roundtables the same way we create Sessions but with the Format Roundtables applied:
When creating a Roundtable format session, it automatically creates a room opened during the Availability start date and the Availability end date that will be defined by you, the Organizer. The Availability start date and the Availability end date are the dates that you wish the call to be accessible to attendees – much like how you would do for a video.
If availability dates are not defined, the Session start and/or end date will be used by default.
Settings and limits
The Organizer can decide on who is able to join the room using the toggle to allow people to register for the Session. By doing so, they are able to select which Groups can register and join the Roundtable.
Also, the Organizer can manually add Participants to the Session. Those People will be able to join the Roundtable as well.
Each Roundtable will have a technical limit of 8 People sharing their video at the same time for non-moderated sessions, and 20 People for moderated sessions. Overall, regardless of video, a limit of 100 Participants per session is allowed per Roundtable.
By default, a Roundtable session will have a registration limit of 100.
The Organizer can still edit this limit with a smaller number than 100 and once reached it will disable the button to join as well for Participants, in such case and if the technical limit of 100 is not reached, Moderators will still be able to join.
Registration limit = Number of People able to join as Attendees, set by the Organizer.
Technical limit = invisible limit of 100 People in the room together at the same time that the platform can handle, including Participants and Moderators.
Moderators and their rights
Moderators will have specific rights when joining the call.
All Speakers of the session and all Organization members are Moderators of the Roundtable.
During the call, using on-screen actions they are able to:
- Mute anyone in the call
- Remove someone from Stage - ie: Deactivate the participant's camera
- Kick anyone out of the Session
Registering and joining a Roundtable
As it is a Session, before it starts, a Roundtable looks exactly like any other format of Session.
Register/Join button logic
- Until the Roundtable has started, users can Register for the session
- When the Roundtable starts, the buttons become a Join button which makes the user enter the room
- If the Participant was registered it will make him join the room only
- If the Participant was not registered, it will perform two actions, register to the Session and join the room
- If the Roundtable is full or is already over, the button is hidden
Please note that Moderators are always able to join the room, even if it's not opened or the registration limit is reached if under 100.
- Until the Roundtable has started, users will see the Session banner
- Once the Roundtable has started:
- If the Participant can register to the Session, they will see the list of people already in the call written on the banner
- If the Participant can't register to the Session, they will only see the banner image without any change
- When the Roundtable is over, it goes back to the session banner image with a text stating "This roundtable is over"
During the Roundtable session
- When a Participant joins a room they will be prompted to allow access to Camera and Microphone
- By default, everyone will join with their Camera and Microphone OFF
- Each Participant will have all actions available, just like any other standard video call
- On each Participant' squared frame, a three-dot icon will allow users to be redirected to the person's profile
- On each call, we can have a maximum of 8 People having their camera ON at the same time
- If the limit is reached, people will see the Camera button disabled
- On each call, we can have a maximum of 50 People with their microphone ON at the same time
The Organizer can import a background image that will be visible behind everyone in the room. For example, it's ideal if you want to feature sponsors.
The image should be a rectangular image (16:9 ratio) with a size of 1920px by 1080px, and that doesn't exceed 1MB.
Along with Roundtables with video and audio, you can also create and join a room where the Attendees can chat with each other in a large conference call using audio-only.
When setting up the Roundtable, you will need to follow all the same steps outlined above, with the only exception being that you will need to toggle on the “audio-only” option.
Participants will be able to speak to one another without turning on their camera and will see the dedicated layout, as seen below:
Speakers of the Sessions and your organization will still have moderation privileges, which include being able to mute someone or kick someone out of the room.